Donald Trump Expands Travel Ban – North Korea & Venezuela and Chad Included

The President of United States, Donald Trump has announced new travel restrictions on visitors to the U.S. The controversial travel ban has extended to eight countries.

The citizens from these seven countries will face new restrictions on entry to the United States under a proclamation signed by the US President.

Mr Trump said in a tweet, “Making America Safe is my number one priority. We will not admit those into our country we cannot safely vet,”

Donald Trump Expands Travel Ban

The new proclamation, is said to take effect on 18 October. Targeted travellers include citizens from the following countries:

  • Somalia
  • Yemen
  • Syria
  • Libya
  • Iran
  • North Korea
  • Chad
  • Venezuela

Iraqi citizens will not noly be subject to travel prohibitions but also well face enhanced scrutiny or vetting.

As for citizens of Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen who lack a “credible claim of a bona fide relationship with a person or entity in the United States” will be ban from entering the US.

RELATED: President Donald Trump’s Net Worth 2017

Although, critics have accused Mr Trump of missusing his authority and violating the US Constitution’s protections against religious bias.

Furthermore, the proclamation is said to marks the administration’s third move to limit travel into the United States after Trump called for a “total and complete shutdown” of Muslims entering the US on the campaign trail.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.